Amazing competition results for Dio water polo teams


Amazing competition results for Dio water polo teams

Thursday the 6th of May, 2021

Congratulations to all our teams on some fantastic College Sport competition results

Senior Water Polo College Sport - Term 1

Dio had five teams entered into the senior water polo competition across three grades -  Premier, Senior A and Senior B. 

In our Senior B competition, both of our teams did extremely well, with the Blue team winning the grade and the Red team placing third. 

In the Senior A competition, our Senior B team placed fifth and our Senior A team won this division, completing the College Sport season undefeated. 

The Premier team also completed an undefeated season which meant that they took the Premier title for the fourth year in a row.

Congratulations to all of our girls who competed and on a successful season. 

Diocesan Blue: Holly Bricklebank, Madison Clark, Paige Ellis, Emily Freeman, Alison Fu, Sienna Hirst, Tayla Larsen, Sophie O’Leary, Violet Smith and Abby Welsh.

Diocesan Red: Scarlett Bell, Kate Green, Emma Sisam, Charlie Sawden, Hannah Thorpe, Felicity Tongue, Hannah Wellington, Alex Wilson and Imogen Worrall. 

Diocesan Senior B: Sydney Bell, Tyler Butler, Maddie Carpenter, Lia David, Vittoria Di, Pietro Selwyn, Arabella Duncan, Lucy Gilleece, Georgia Joblin, Arabella O’Donnell and Zoe Wong.

Diocesan Senior A: Ava Darbyshire, Sophia Jackson, Louise Masefield, Ellie Millard, Vita Yarrell-Stevenson, Neve Cobham, Bella Dalton, Bella Francis, Billie Frecker Netten, Emma Gilleece, Ruby Helm, Kasey McDowall, Lucia Partigliani and Jenna Veal. 

Diocesan Premier: Lauren Batchelor, Hannah Bell, Bella Broadmore, Georgia Daly, Sophie Gardiner, Issy Jackson, Lara Johns, Millie Quin, Sophie Shorter-Robinson (C), Bella Francis,  Emma Gilleece, Ruby Helm and Kasey McDowall.

New Zealand Secondary School Division 2 Championships 

Senior B and Senior C travelled to Hamilton to compete in the Division 2 Championships played at St Peter’s Cambridge and Waterworld Te Rapa. Dio sent two young teams consisting of students from Year 8 to Year 10, and both teams were competitive. Our Senior C team won the bowl for the tournament and had some competitive games where they could continue to improve on their skills and advance their gameplay. 

Senior B had an awesome tournament where they had some extremely competitive games with some schools' premier teams. The team placed fourth overall but the girls played amazingly well, trying some new tactics that were executed very well against strong opposition.

Congratulations to both teams on a successful tournament. 

Senior C: Holly Bricklebank, Emily Freeman, Kate Green, Sienna Hirst, Sophie O’Leary, Charlie Sawden, Emma Sisam, Felicity Tongue, Frankie Dodunski, Ashley Cheeseman and Amelie Schnauer.

Senior B: Madi Clark, Lia David, Vittoria Di Pietro Selwyn, Paige Ellis, Alison Fu, Lucy Gilleece, Georgia Joblin, Tayla Larsen, Arabella O’Donnell, Violet Smith, Hannah Wellington, Abby Welsh and  Zoe Wong.